michel bertrand

Bonjour, Malgré de nombreuses recherches, je n'a

25-03-2024 14:08

Ursula Kozik

Bonjour et bonne journée, On m'a envoyé une tro

« < 1 2 3 4 5 > »
Cosmospora and its possible anamorph
Stephen Mifsud, 31-12-2021 11:34
Stephen MifsudDear colleagues. First of all I wish everyone a better new 2022 and hope things get back to normal soon.

I am studying a Necteriaceae, possibly a Cosmospora it was similar to this entry in the af db :

http://www.ascofrance.fr/search_recolte/2236

I have managed to isolate it as an anamorph but before further tests I want to confirm that the Anamorph I isolated do make sense. the mould produced those orange pustules which I saw in some site for cosmospora sp. so I think we are on the right track. The spores  looks like that in the database labelled Cosmospora sp.  by ALAIN GARDIENNET (link above). The hyphae have numerous oil bodies  refractive bodies. I could not detect obvious conidiophores (maybe they just bud from simpile conidiophore-like branches. Spores 10-16 um long. It does not look like a fusarium :-(

The Perithecia were growing on some black Xylariaceae stomata attached on fallen olive branches. They were pyriform in my opinion. 

- - - - bottom line - - - -

There was also some kind of contaminant fungus, so I subcultured on different media to try and have a pure culture.  I would also be interested to know what is that 'contaminant fungus' too. 

Thanks and hope this is interesting after lots of work! (I should take some more pics!)
There is a paper by Herera et al (2015) dealing with Pseudocosmospora....

• message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
  • message #71250
Stephen Mifsud, 31-12-2021 11:36
Stephen Mifsud
Re : Cosmospora and its possible namorph
Contaminant
  • message #71251
  • message #71251
Christian Lechat, 31-12-2021 15:42